Before I did this I did not proclaim to be a feminist,

I didn’t feel it was necessary.

Before I did this I didn’t shout out for women to be treated fairly,

I didn’t think I needed to.

 

Before I did this people didn’t comment on my appearance,

the clothes I wore, make-up or no make-up, my hair

were only commented on by my close friends…or my children.

 

Before I did this nobody ever said ‘Oh, you’re a woman’

in either surprised or disappointed tones.

Nobody ever asked if there was a man available instead.

 

Before I did this my inappropriate humour was found to be funny….or not,

my flirting was just that – to be returned in jest or ignored.

Jokes were jokes and actions were actions,

nobody thought the two must be connected.

 

Before I did this I was never avoided because I was a woman,

nobody was asked to stay away from me because I was a woman,

and if they had, nobody would have thought this was OK.

 

Before I did this I was never judged by my marital status,

I was never asked to explain my marital status,

nobody frickin’ cared about my marital status.

 

Before I did this my ability to do my job was judged by…

my ability to do my job.

Nobody ever wondered aloud whether things would be better

if a man was doing it.

 

Before I did this I did not proclaim to be a feminist,

I didn’t feel it was necessary.

Before I did this I didn’t shout out for women to be treated fairly,

I didn’t think I needed to.

 

 

