As my 40th birthday creeps nearer and nearer I have to confess to having mixed feelings about it. On the one hand there is hope and excitement for what the future may bring, but on the other there’s that realisation that life is passing by. In the back of my mind I remember the days when I thought people this age were wise and had life sorted, now I know that’s so far from reality it’s laughable (speaking for myself anyway). But the whole thing makes me realise how much time I waste and I’m determined to live life better from now on so it’s time for a list I reckon. Pen and paper at the ready..

‘I’m writing a bucket list’, I say to my son, ‘You know, a list of stuff to do before I die. Any ideas?’

He scans the room. ‘Maybe clean up a bit? It’ll save us a job once you’ve gone’.

Kids! Gotta love ’em!

